Getting Data In

How to push a script out to remote forwarders?

yonphang
Explorer

hello everyone,

I saw multiple post regarding this but couldn't really understand the architect behind.

We have 3000 forwarders checked in to the server. We have Windows and Linux server classes. We also created apps to push the configuration files to all the forwarders.

But now we would like to implement resource monitoring thru the agent. I wrote a batch script that would query the CPU usage and memory every minute, then output to a txt file, and get pushed out to the Splunk indexer.

I knew that if I need to run the script on the remote machine, I would need to place the script under $SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/MYAPP/bin.
Question is, how I can do that? Isn't that as simple as putting the script in the "app" and then restart the splunk agent, then the agents will pick up whenever it's there? Am I right? And what configuration do I need to specifically to make the script run?

I am new to Splunk, haven't got chance to take any training as the company did not provide any. I learn as I go.

Thank you

0 Karma
1 Solution

muebel
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi yongphang, You'll want to utilize the deployment server to have the app delivered to the forwarders : http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.2.5/Updating/Updateconfigurations

One thing to keep in mind is that, if you are using the Universal Forwarder it does not come with python bundled. Your scripted inputs will have to utilize native OS utilities, or otherwise have any dependencies already satisfied.

Let me know if this makes sense 😄

View solution in original post

0 Karma

martin_mueller
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Add a script:// entry to inputs.conf (<-- click that for docs), it'll automagically index stdout.

If you have a mix of windows and linux deployment servers, make sure the linux forwarders are supplied by a linux deployment server with the x bit set.

0 Karma

s0rbeto
Explorer