Getting Data In

How to make Splunk ignore logs older than specific days

phudinhha
Explorer

Dear Team,

I had an issue with splunk and had to follow this post:

https://community.splunk.com/t5/All-Apps-and-Add-ons/Amazon-Web-Services-Add-on-s3-generic-error-Typ...

to make my splunk works again. However, now Splunk will ingest logs from the beginning of everything. How do I make splunk to ingest logs from the last 7 days / 14 days.

I'm pretty new with Splunk so I really appreciate every input from you guys.

Labels (2)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @phudinhha ,

did you tried with ignoreOlderThan option in inputs.conf?

For more infos see at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.0.4/Admin/Inputsconf

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

phudinhha
Explorer

Hi gcusello,

I tried ignoreOlderThan option in inputs.conf like below:

host = TESTSERVER
index = serverlogs
sourcetype = serverlogs:json
ignoreOlderThan = 14d
recursive = true

Is that okay? Should I use any other solution?

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @phudinhha ,

this is the solution.

Remember to restart Splunk on Forwarder after update.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

phudinhha
Explorer

hi @gcusello 

I tried but the log stopped coming in for that index. I did restart my whole splunk and still nothing happen. I checked the colddb and db and nothing new added.

in the index, I set up the storage optimization long time ago, and it Reduce tsidx files older than values is 21 days. Is that the root cause ?

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @phudinhha ,

I don't think, but try to enlarge it.

Check also what's the date format of your logs: if it's dd/mm/yyyy, in the first days of each month there could be a problem related to the Splunk default date format (mm/dd/yyyy).

You can check this viewing logs on operative system and/or searching logs of 1st July on the 7th of January.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

phudinhha
Explorer