Getting Data In

How to forward old data from a forwarder to a new Splunk index?

LuiesCui
Communicator

Hey guys, I'm new to splunk and I really need ur help!!!

As what I know, once the data from a .log file are loaded by forwarder to Splunk, the forwarder won't load them again if the .log file has not been change. What I want to do is to get the old data to a new Splunk index without changing the .log file and what happens is the index gets nothing. So is there any way to clear the record (or change some configuration? i don't know) on what the forwarder has already sent and make it forward that old data again? Thx so much!!!

1 Solution

MuS
Legend

Hi LuiesCui,

you can either clean the index fishbucket on the forwarder by running the following command:

$SPLUNK_HOME/bin/splunk clean all

This will force the forwarder the re-load everything or you add the following option crcSalt = REINDEXMEPLEASE to your monitor stanza in inputs.conf:

[monitor://C:\temp\tutorialdata]
disabled = 0
index = foo
sourcetype = myfoo
crcSalt = REINDEXMEPLEASE

restart the forwarder, wait some seconds and immediately remove the option from inputs.conf without restarting the forwarder.
This will enable you to selectively re-load single inputs. Both methods tested and working on Windows with Splunk universal forwarder 6.1.1

Hope that helps ...

cheers, MuS

View solution in original post

bohrasaurabh
Communicator

Another approach would be backup the c:\program files\spunkforwarder\etc\apps directory on the forwarder machine and then un-install and reinstall the forwarder. place back the contents of the apps directory and then start the forwarder.

0 Karma

LuiesCui
Communicator

Can I just delete the fishbucket?

0 Karma

MuS
Legend

This is some kind of a hardcore way, but it will work as well if you stop the forwarder and delete C:\Program Files\SplunkUniversalForwarder\var\lib\splunk\fishbucket the directory will then be re-created if you start the forwarder again.

0 Karma

MuS