Getting Data In

How to filter dynamically based on string match across two different lookups

rohankin

Hi,
I am new to Splunk and am stuck at the this problem. To elaborate:

I have attached example of datasets and the desired result table that I am working with here.
Datasets that I am using are KVStore lookups.

But basically I am trying to connect dataset 1 to dataset 2 bringing over attributes (Flag A,B & C) based on condition.
Condition is applied to column "Application Name" and there is many to one mapping which is confusing me.

Any help is greatly appreciated !

(PS: Key is to have value of Flag= True in the output if it is true for any of the application mapped to that device name)

• Rohan alt text
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

HI rohankin,
try something like this:

| inputlookup Dataset1.csv
| rename "Application Name" AS ApplicationName
| makemv delim="," ApplicationName
| mvexpand ApplicationName
| lookup Dataset2.csv "Application Name" AS ApplicationName OUTPUT Flag-A Flag-B Flag-C
| stats values(ApplicationName) AS ApplicationName values(Flag-A) AS Flag-A values(Flag-B) AS Flag-B values(Flag-C) AS Flag-C BY "Device name"
| rename ApplicationName AS "Application Name"

If possible, avoid spaces in field names!

Ciao.
Giuseppe

View solution in original post

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

HI rohankin,
try something like this:

| inputlookup Dataset1.csv
| rename "Application Name" AS ApplicationName
| makemv delim="," ApplicationName
| mvexpand ApplicationName
| lookup Dataset2.csv "Application Name" AS ApplicationName OUTPUT Flag-A Flag-B Flag-C
| stats values(ApplicationName) AS ApplicationName values(Flag-A) AS Flag-A values(Flag-B) AS Flag-B values(Flag-C) AS Flag-C BY "Device name"
| rename ApplicationName AS "Application Name"

If possible, avoid spaces in field names!

Ciao.
Giuseppe

0 Karma

rohankin

Thanks for the quick reply !!!!!