Getting Data In

How to configure the WMI event collection start date so when I add a new Windows server, Splunk doesn't retrieve historical data?

ewicher

Hi!

I'm pretty new to Splunk and at the moment, I'm trying to set up a centralized repository for all my Windows events via WMI. So far this works fine.
Only issue I have is that every time I add a server, splunk retrieves all the events on the Windows Server - even old ones. This leads to a license violation.
Can I somehow set a filter that when I add a new server, have it start with the event collection only from the moment I add the server so I don't get all the "historical" data?

Thanks!!

Tags (4)
0 Karma

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

Limit how far back your Forwader will look for older data to process:

$SPLUNK_HOME/etc/apps/MyApp/default/inputs.conf:
[monitor://<myPath>]
ignoreOlderThan = 1d

When onboarding new data from an extensive archive, avoid forwarding data older than your retention goal, and if volume/day is huge, consider limiting it to 1d until you have been online for the length of your retention goal, then set it to your retention goal. The default for this value is 90 days. It is very possible to forward 90 days worth of data all in 1 day and blow away your license.

0 Karma

ewicher

Thanks for your answer!
I just don't know where to put the "ignoreolderthan" key in the case of an WMI configuration.

Giving more details in advance:
I added the WMI host via the webinterface. So in the inputs.conf file I just have the line:
[script://$SPLUNK_HOME\bin\scripts\splunk-wmi.path]
The whole config seems to be in the wmi.conf file.

I tried to put the key in the inputs.conf file below the [script://xxxx] stanza as well as in the wmi.conf file below the [WMI:xxx] stanza.
When restarting splunk both options return a "Invalid key in stanza..." Error message.

One question if I understand it right:
When I use
current_only = 1
in the wmi.conf, does it really mean that: