Getting Data In

How to configure a Splunk forwarder for a network switch/router?

lavkush

Hello Team:

We would like to capture the network traffic data at a network switch/router level and then we want to forward the captured data to Splunk.
If there is any workaround, Please provide the documentation (step by step) for achieving this one.

Thanks for the help in advance.

0 Karma

narean

I am new to splunk, can some one provide me the steps how to add CISCO L3 switches to Splunk.

I need the steps, please help

0 Karma

nychawk
Communicator

I second the Netflow app from Netflow Logic.
The app and TA are both nicely packaged, easy to use and maintain, and provide great reporting tools.

Best of all, has minimal indexing requirements, which is not typical when considering Netflow and/or packet captures.

esix_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Check out the Stream App for Splunk : https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/1809/

You can use this to do exactly what you are describing. The idea here would be that your network team can give you a SPAN/Mirror Port off a switch and you can connect one interface to it. From there you can use Stream to capture network traffic over the wire. Its very simple to pull out SRC and DST IP address along with PORT numbers.

Very simple with Stream!

0 Karma

nychawk
Communicator

I haven't used Stream yet, it's in my bucket list. I can't imagine however that it will not take a huge chunk of my license to provide me with Netflow style data. The Netflow Logic tool provides visibility with only a small chunk of at least my license.

0 Karma

NetFlow_Logic
Contributor