Getting Data In

How do I set up a Splunk forwarder to monitor and forward log files within a certain path?

hastrike

We are wanting to modify our Splunk forwarders on workstations to look at other log files and I am curious how to go about doing this.The location of the log files on the computers are as follows. I am really new to Splunk.

Log Files within this path: C:\Users\\AppData\Local\Temp\inin_tracing\

IC Client:

interactionclient.ininlog
interactionclient_1.ininlog
interactionclient_2.ininlog

0 Karma
1 Solution

javiergn
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @hastrike, in future please remember to include your paths, queries and anything with special characters between code tags (button with 1s and 0s) otherwise those characters will be removed when posting your comments.

Anyway, if you just want to add a new file input to your Universal Forwarder, the best place to start is here. You can also find all the advanced details by reading the inputs.conf specification.

In your particular case, it will probably be something like this what you need to configure in your inputs.conf:

[monitor://C:\Users\AppData\Local\Temp\inin_tracing\*.ininlog]
disabled = 0
index = your_index_name
sourcetype = your_sourcetype_name

[monitor://C:\Windows\Temp\inin_tracing\*.ininlog]
disabled = 0
index = your_index_name

View solution in original post

renjith_nair
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Add the log file stanza to your SPLUNK_HOME/etc/system/local/inputs.conf

[monitor://C:\Users\AppDate\Local\Temp\inin_tracing\interactionclient_*.ininlog]
index= your index name
other fileds=other vlaues

[monitor://C:\Windows\Temp\inin_tracing\screencapturetransferserviceu_*.ininlog]
index= your index name
other fileds=other vlaues

See here for reference : http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.2.0/Data/Editinputs.conf

Happy Splunking!
0 Karma

hastrike

thank you for the response.

0 Karma

javiergn
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust