Getting Data In

How can I monitor Splunk instances (deployment, deployer, seach head, cluster master, etc.)?

bryanthomas24vs
Explorer

I'm new to setting up clusters and I assumed that the splunk instances (deployment, deployer, seach head, cluster master, etc) would naturally forward their own splunk logs ($SPLUNK_HOME/var/log/splunk/*).

Are they and I am missing them? host=cluster-master index=* no results...
Is there an app, best practice, or some documentation regarding this?
I can't find what I am looking for in the monitoring console, which is:

Failed to register with cluster master
reason: failed method=POST
expected_response_code=2xx
actual_response_code=500
status_line="Internal Server Error"

Everything seems to be working fine...

0 Karma

paulstout
Path Finder

Have you set up outputs.conf on your components? Splunk requires outputs.conf to be configured -- same as the universal forwarders -- before these components will send their logs to your index cluster.

You can find more information in this documentation link:

https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/6.6.2/DistSearch/Forwardsearchheaddata

bryanthomas24vs
Explorer

Short answer: yes.
Long answer: (I didn't configure this bit) On the cluster master, in /opt/splunk/etc/apps/cluster_forwarder_outputs/local/outputs.conf it has:
[tcpout]
defaultGroup = primary_indexers
maxQueueSize = 7MB
useACK = true
forceTimebasedAutoLB = true
forwardedindex.2.whitelist = (_audit|_introspection|_internal)
[tcpout:primary_indexers]
server = indxer01.fqdn:9997, indxer02.fqdn:9997
autoLB = true

I can see the instances (5) in the CM under overview & resources, but nowhere else.

0 Karma

bryanthomas24vs
Explorer

but I also found the following in another outputs.conf, which I am guessing is the cause of the problem:
[indexAndForward]
index = false
[tcpout]
forwardedindex.filter.disable = true
indexAndForward = false

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

What's new in Splunk Cloud Platform 9.1.2312?