Getting Data In

Help with Props.config and XML Parsing

jaminquimby
Explorer

I am new to Splunk and am trying to figure out how to parse a xml file. This is a generic xml file coming from Microsoft Storage Reports
The XML

<?xml version="1.0"?><StorageReport version="2.0"><ReportHeader ReportTitle="Quota Usage Report" GeneratedAt="1/30/2014 1:05:06 AM" MachineName="Server1" ReportTypeDescription="Lists the quotas that exceed a certain disk space usage level. Use this report to quickly identify quotas that may soon be exceeded so that you can take the appropriate action." ReportDescription="" TimestampRenderingPhaseStart="1/30/2014 1:05:08 AM" TimestampGenerationEnding="1/30/2014 1:05:08 AM" MaxDisplayItems="1000" Type="FsrmReportType_QuotaUsage" FilesCount="189" IsStandardFileList="False"><ReportNamespaces><Namespace ID="0">K:\</Namespace></ReportNamespaces><ReportFilters><Filter Name="Minimum Quota used percent" Value="0%" /></ReportFilters><ReportWarnings /></ReportHeader><ReportData><Item><Folder>k:\fs_Folder1</Folder><FolderURL>\\Server1\k$\fs_Folder1</FolderURL><RemotePath><Path>\\Server1\STORE1$\fs_Folder1</Path></RemotePath><Owner>BUILTIN\Administrators</Owner><Limit>1073741824</Limit><Used>4598678528</Used><PercentUsed>428.29</PercentUsed><PeakUsage>4602409984</PeakUsage><PeakUsageTime>1/29/2014 11:49:57 AM</PeakUsageTime><Description></Description></Item><Item><Folder>k:\fs_Folder2</Folder><FolderURL>\\Server1\k$\fs_Folder2</FolderURL><RemotePath><Path>\\Server1\STORE1$\fs_Folder2</Path></RemotePath><Owner>BUILTIN\Administrators</Owner><Limit>1073741824</Limit><Used>3881845760</Used><PercentUsed>361.53</PercentUsed><PeakUsage>3922589696</PeakUsage><PeakUsageTime>1/28/2014 3:41:41 PM</PeakUsageTime><Description></Description></Item></ReportData><ReportSummary><ReportTotals QuotaCount="189" Used="94984972288" /><NamespaceTotals QuotaCount="189" Used="94984972288" /></ReportSummary></StorageReport>

The Props.conf

SHOULD_LINEMERGE = true
KV_MODE=xml