Getting Data In

Data Onboarding

johnlzy0408
Loves-to-Learn Everything

Hi all, i am new to splunk and face with a scenario. 

We have install a forwarder on 1 of our production solaris device, intending to send logs to Splunk for monitoring purpose. On the Forwarder Management, we can see that this solaris host is phoning home, which suggest that its connecting to the Splunk.

App: Host is deployed to the Sol-prodweb app, which have an inputs.conf. This content inside list the path that suppose to be monitor, eg:

[monitor:///var/adm/authlog]

index=sol-prodweb

sourcetype=linux_secure

disable=0

We have also verify that the indexes page have the sol-prodweb detail and that the //var/adm/authlog path does have logs inside. 

Server class: we also have create a sol-prodweb , with this device IP inside the whitelist .

Any important settings or steps that we miss out cause we are still unable to see any logs or data from this particular host at all?

Labels (2)
0 Karma

cnuguri_ncc
Path Finder

@johnlzy0408 

Did you check check if the UF service has permissions to read the log file (the user that UF runs as).

As @gcusello suggested, if you are receiving internal logs from this UF, you should see permission errors in the logs.

0 Karma

johnlzy0408

Let me check on the permission and the user use to run splunk forwarder.

0 Karma

johnlzy0408

I have just checked and we do have only read permission for that path. 

However, searching for _Internal Index and that particular host find no results at all. 

What can be our next step?

Tags (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @johnlzy0408,

let me understand:

• you installed UF on Solaris,
  • you deployed TAs on UF,
  • you're not receiving logs on Indexer from that UF.

some stupid questions:

• how do you deployed TAs on UF: Manually or by Deployment Server?
  • if manually, did you restarted Splunk on UF?
  • did you have Splunk internal logs from that UF on Indexes?