frozen directory does not exist unless you define it.
splunk by default will delete / remove buckets from cold as they either reach the time or size thresholds defined (whatever comes first)
if you set the frozen location, data (buckets) in this location are not readable.
thawed directory is a place to put data that you would like to recover after it was frozen.
buckets in the thawed directory are readable by splunk.