Deployment Architecture

Splunk high availability without data duplication

yspendiff1stop
Explorer

Hi,

We're putting in splunk in the next few months as a part of PCI compliance. I'm just getting the ball rolling and starting my learning cycle so I'm pretty new to it all.

The first step, which I'm doing, is to architect our splunk deployment. Looking around I'm somewhat baffled to find that there seems to be no way to use shared storage and HA between devices to failover if a node goes down. So what I'm envisioning is iSCSI disk mounts on 2 physical nodes (indexers), one node is active and the other is a standby. If the active goes down the standby takes over. Is this possible with splunk?

Assuming no, as I've not read anything about it (why not?! This is basic stuff) then it seems like my only other options are a HA license to do clones streams to 2 indexers or to use cluster replication. Both of these options use literally twice as much storage space from my interpretation, which seems to fly right in the face of everything learned about de-dupe. I understand this is a performance boon as well, but even on our measly 5GB a day for our first year while we put it in, with a 1 year requirement of data that's an extra 1.8TB just to have HA, if we moved to 10 or 20 then it seems like such a waste of storage. I'm just trying to understand it here.

I've thought about some other options and was wondering if anyone had tried these:

1. Build a 2 host VMWare cluster and put the indexer on that. If we want to add another indexer then we add another host to the cluster (so N + 1 basically). That way the host has dedicated resources by is redundant to hardware failure.
  2. Use heartbeat or some other open source HA software to manually monitor the process and fail it over. It just seems strange to use old school open source stuff to make HA a product like splunk which is so developed.