Deployment Architecture

I want to design a disitributed splunk architecture and need to know system requirements for components

lostcauz3
Path Finder

Hi, I'm trying to design a distributed architecture of Splunk for my company, and I need to pitch the design to them. I need to know the total number of servers required and each system's specifications. 

How can I start with this? I have little knowledge of splunk admin parts mainly because I am a developer.

Users/day can be less than 1000 and the indexing volume should be around 5 GB/day. 

Can anyone please recommend something where to start?

0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @lostcauz3 ,

this is a job for a Splunk Certified Architect, not for the Community and I'd avoid to design a distributed architecture with the low knowledge that you said to have.

Anyway, there are many information required:

• is HA required at data level (indexer Cluster)?
  • is HA required at presentation level (Search Head Cluster)?
  • do you need to use Premium apps as ES or ITSI?
  • have you Universal Forwarders to manage? if yes, how many?
  • what's the retention of your data?
  • can you confirm 5 GB/day of daily indexed data?
  • how many concurrent users do you think to have (1000 are probably too many!)?

Anyway, you can find information about the validated Splunk architectures in the document https://www.splunk.com/en_us/pdfs/tech-brief/splunk-validated-architectures.pdf

About hardware reference, you can see at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/9.3.0/Capacity/Referencehardware

Ciao.

Giuseppe

View solution in original post

lostcauz3
Path Finder

Hi @gcusello,  Thank you for your valuable feedback, indeed I'm not an architect but thanks for the pointers I will go through them.

I have one more question, If we are going with a new environment in splunk is it ideally best to go with the latest version? 

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @lostcauz3 ,