Deployment Architecture

How to Forward different subsets to different indexes?

rvk_sp_user
Observer

Hello Splunk Community,

I am pretty new to Splunk and I have a use case where different subsets of logs are to be forwarded to different indexes from the same monitor location. For example all logs matching a pattern(like a regex) should go to index1 and all other logs should go to default index.

I found this Splunk documentation but this is forwarding logs from different monitor locations.

I have the following in inputs.conf..

inputs.conf
[monitor:///<monitor-location>]
index = <my-index>
sourcetype = <type>

Can you please help?

Labels (2)
0 Karma

rvk_sp_user
Observer

@gcusello Thanks for the answer. But, I already have a working solution of forwarding logs with stanzas to an index. What I am essentially looking for is how to send a subset of the logs from the same input to a different index; while sending all other logs to the default index. 

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rvk_sp_user,

in this case, you need a regex to identify the logs to send to an index different than the default then you have to override index value based on that regex.

in few words, on your Indexers or (if present) or your Heavy Forwarders, not on Universal Forwarders, you have to put in

props.conf

#props.conf 
[mysourcetype]
TRANSFORMS-index = overrideindex

transforms.conf

# transforms.conf 
[overrideindex]
DEST_KEY =_MetaData:Index
REGEX = <your_regex>
FORMAT = your_new_index

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

rvk_sp_user
Observer

Sorry for late response. Thanks a lot @gcusello . My requirement changed a bit.

So, here 

DEST_KEY =_MetaData:Index

for "Index" needs to be replaced with my old index?

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @rvk_sp_user,