Deployment Architecture

Forwarder management UI shows delete record, what does it do?

Explorer

Title. What does delete record do? I have some problems with duplicate instance ID's which I've resolved but after restarting both the DM and the forwarder I still see some issues in the forwarder management UI.

Labels (1)

Delete Record: This action just temporarily deletes the client's record from the deployment server. The next time the client contacts the deployment server, the record will be regenerated. The action does not affect the client itself in any way.

Copied from: https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/8.0.2/Updating/Useforwardermanagementtomanageclients#Vi...

0 Karma

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

How did you resolve the duplicate instance IDs? What issues are you seeing in the management UI?
Are all of your UFs using a different GUID?
Perhaps this old, related Answer will be helpful: https://answers.splunk.com/answers/32368/duplicate-guids-for-cloned-forwarders-how-to-correct.html

---
If this reply helps you, an upvote would be appreciated.
0 Karma

Explorer

Uh, 15 months later? Gotta get that karma

0 Karma

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

This question was up-voted today so someone else must be having a similar problem.

---
If this reply helps you, an upvote would be appreciated.
0 Karma
Don’t Miss Global Splunk
User Groups Week!

Free LIVE events worldwide 2/8-2/12
Connect, learn, and collect rad prizes and swag!