Deployment Architecture
Highlighted

Deployment Server

Explorer

Hi,

In production environment ,I've deployment server with several serverclasses(having multiple Apps and clients). I've deployed few apps to clients in some serverclass through DS. Now, I want to disable my deployment server permanently. Here are few questions that come to my mind when i think of disabling DS.

  1. How to disable DS?
  2. If I disbale DS. Will the Apps pushed through DS earlier will be deleted from deployment clients?
  3. If Yes, How to avoid deletion of Apps deployed through DS from deployment clients?

Please Help.

Thank You!

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: Deployment Server

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Why do you want to disable the DS? You'll need to update the deployed apps.

---
If this reply helps you, an upvote would be appreciated.
0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: Deployment Server

SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

I believe if there's no serverclass.conf then the server that was the deployment server won't act as a deployment server.

The clients will attempt to connect but will fail but the existing apps should not get deleted.

Alternatively

1) on the client, you could add

 [deployment-client]
 disabled = true

See https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/7.3.0/Admin/Deploymentclientconf

2) You could point to a non existent deployment server

[target-broker:deploymentServer]
targetUri = nonexistent_server.mycompany.com

View solution in original post

0 Karma
Highlighted

Re: Deployment Server

Contributor

How to disable DS?
-- uninstall the Splunk Enterprise from the host that is serving as the DS
-- if the Splunk Enterprise is working not only as a DS but other Splunky purpose and so you don't want to uninstall the Splunk in it, then delete all serverclasses, deployment-apps, and go to each client and delete the deploymentclient.conf

If I disbale DS. Will the Apps pushed through DS earlier will be deleted from deployment clients?
-- nope. apps in the clients will just stay as though they're installed there manually

If Yes, How to avoid deletion of Apps deployed through DS from deployment clients?
-- ...

0 Karma