Deployment Architecture

Deployment Server Total Downloads in the Last Hour

lib_systems
Path Finder

I've recently set up a deployment server with about 100 clients phoning home, per the default setting. The deployment server contains about 20 deployment apps which are not updated often. However, each time I go to the Forwarder Management page, the statistics at the top will show something like "281 Total Downloads in the last 1 hour". Can someone explain how I should be interpreting this count? The deployment apps are not being updated so clients are not downloading any new changes. Does the act of a client simply phoning home constitute a "download"? Any insight is appreciated.

jmantor
Path Finder

I've been ignoring this number for 8 or 9 years now as it's never made any sense and doesn't correspond to the results of the queries mentioned above.   How does this counter even work?

0 Karma

CarsonZa
Contributor

index=_internal source=*splunkd.log host=YourDeploymentServerHere component=PackageDownloadRestHandler "Download complete"
| stats count by app

0 Karma

thambisetty
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi,

Any solution for this one?

————————————
If this helps, give a like below.
0 Karma

lib_systems
Path Finder

Nope. I've given up and chalked this up to another piece of software that doesn't work as advertised since I've done nothing more than follow the basic installation instructions.

0 Karma

somesoni2
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

The phone home doesn't count as download. I would check the splunkd.log of the your deployment server to see what all clients/apps are being download, you can use this query for it.

index=_internal source=*splunkd.log host=YourDeploymentServerHere action=download
0 Karma

lib_systems
Path Finder