Dashboards & Visualizations

Splunk dashboard table - how to add colors based on Threshold values for Dynamic column names?

shashankk
Communicator

Hello Team

I am having a Dashboard created with below Table output. The table is having a dynamic column names (in Date format)

Output as below:

TestMQ2023-06-232023-06-222023-06-212023-06-202023-06-192023-06-182023-06-172023-06-16And so on - till 30 days
MQ.NAME5.0317.0425.7519.8232.1456.8110.9185.14....

My requirement is to color code these values based on the threshold condition as "[<60 = Green] | [>85 = Red] | [>60 AND <85 = Amber]"

I am new to Splunk and still learning. Kindly suggest how this can be achieved i.e. to modify the dynamic Column values based on the Threshold conditions.

@ITWhisperer

0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try removing field so that it applies to all fields.

View solution in original post

shashankk
Communicator

@ITWhisperer - Do you have any suggestions on this please? 

• Are we suppose to Hard code all possible values and specify the Threshold condition? 
  • How do we use wildcard search here which will apply to all possible Date format values ?

Example below:

Date Format: 2023-06-27

<format type="color" field="202*-*-*">
    <colorPalette type="list">[#53A051,#F1813F,#DC4E41]</colorPalette>
    <scale type="threshold">60,85</scale>
    </format>
0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try removing field so that it applies to all fields.

shashankk
Communicator

@ITWhisperer - Thank you - this works fine! 🙂

0 Karma

dural_yyz
Communicator

Formatting columns with color is answered here:

https://community.splunk.com/t5/Dashboards-Visualizations/How-to-color-table-cell-on-dashboard-based...

They referenced the document link here:

http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/latest/Viz/TableFormatsXML