Dashboards & Visualizations

Splunk DB2 / AS400 Integration

jjarevalo
Explorer

Hi, 

I am new to splunk and currently doing a POC to create a POC to monitor a DB2 database and an AS400 running on IBM.

Does anyone have had the chance to work on the same setup?

Basically, the objective is to have proactive alerts or some kind of monitoring dashboard for DB2 database and if possible self healing mechanism through the report?

I would really appreciate if someone have some ideas to share.

Labels (1)
1 Solution

rnowitzki
Builder

Hi @jjarevalo ,

I created a "AS400 Monitoring App" for Splunk a while ago. Customer was more interested in the Jobs processed by the AS400 instead of the DB2 Performance/Availability, but maybe this helps you:

We have a script that sits on the AS400 that has access to the DB2. For your requirement, maybe this is enough:

qsh -c "db2 -S \"SELECT TOTAL_JOBS_IN_SYSTEM,ACTIVE_JOBS_IN_SYSTEM,AVERAGE_CPU_UTILIZATION FROM TABLE(QSYS2.SYSTEM_STATUS(RESET_STATISTICS=>'YES'))\"" | grep -v -e "----" -e "SELECTED" -e "^$"

(maybe you have to change the SELECT statement details and/or the grep stuff afterwards, based on your setup)

This would give you something like:

TOTAL_JOBS_IN_SYSTEM ACTIVE_JOBS_IN_SYSTEM AVERAGE_CPU_UTILIZATION
3630                 223                   2.81

This script is called by a scripted input in Splunk. Can be a simple sh/python, that just does:
ssh user@as400_host "/path/to/script"

The python version would be using paramiko e.g.

If you call this on a regular basis, you could already create a simple dashboard and alerting. 
You could alert on high CPU usage,  you could alert if there are no Jobs processed (Active Jobs = 0, or Active Job count does not change over a period of time) and of course you could alert if the script does not return any data. It MIGHT mean the DB2/AS400 has an issue (or maybe your input app 😉 )

Hope it helps to give you an idea
BR
Ralph

--
Karma and/or Solution tagging appreciated.