That's better practice, and it will avoid the issue where your particular user leaves the company and no one can thereafter look at that dash. This way, you just add the same role to their replacement.
That works but, since we just have user, poweruser and admin roles. I just have sensitive data on each dashboard that I don't want all the personnel in the user group to be able to see, just a specified few. Or would it be easier to just send a link to all the specified users?
That's that he was talking about. Splunk does not have data controls other than at the role level, so if you send a link, and if your user forwards the link, then whoever receives the link will see the same data.