Dashboards & Visualizations

How to troubleshoot this Error in 'eval' command: The expression is malformed?

Druffin1
Engager

I am trying to execute a Dashboard in splunk and I'm getting this error message. It has to do time. Be is the code. Im new to splunk and having a issue with formatting the eval function. I had to commit out the CASE number but see if you can find out why the eval sttament is not woring in the query

index="salesforce" source="/informatica/pmrootdir/Splunk_SFDC_Logs/*-eventlogfile-splunk.csv" host="louapplps2024" CASE(xxxxxxxxxxxxxx) earliest=-7d latest=now (EVENT_TYPE="ApexExecution") QUIDDITY IN (R,V,W,H,X,M,L,K,I,E) IS_LONG_RUNNING_REQUEST=1 | dedup REQUEST_ID | eval oraDbTime=IF(!isnull(sdbDbTime),round(oraDbTime/1000000,0),oraDbTime) | eval dbCpuTime=IF(!isnull(sdbDbTime),round(dbCpuTime/1000000,0),dbCpuTime) | eval sdbDbTime=round(sdbDbTime/1000000,0) | eval reqIsNull=IF(isnull(requestId) AND entryPoint="TRIGGERS","YES","NO")| where reqIsNull="NO" | eval permitTime= (runTime-5000) | eval permitTimeInSecs= (permitTime/1000) | eval runTimeInSecs= (runTime/1000) | eval endTime=_time | eval startTime=(_time-runTimeInSecs) | eval conTime=(_time-permitTimeInSecs)
$org_token$ EVENT_TYPE="LightningPageView" OR EVENT_TYPE="LightningPerformance" APP_NAME="siteforce:communityApp" $userId$ $app$ | timechart span=$timespan$ dc(USER_ID) as Views

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

What is the value of org_token as it seems to have been appended to the eval command - is this the eval command in question?

View solution in original post

0 Karma

maciep
Champion

It's helpful if you post your search inside the code tags like below.  That may help you troubleshoot as well.  At a glance, I would say whatever is happening after your last eval is the problem.  Looks like maybe some tokens from the dashboard are just shoved in a random condition down there?