Dashboards & Visualizations

How to display my data in a graph over time?

schu777
Explorer

I have the following line that is getting logged - it has totals for several queues in an app. I'd like to have a graph to show the totals as time goes - how can I accomplish this in Splunk? (Sorry, I'm very new to this part of Splunk) Note - these message are done every 5 minutes for development.

Thanks, Michael

Feb 27, 2015 11:14:39  totalOutAckCount=153 totalOutEnqCount=216 totalEnqueuedCount=0 totalErrorCount=123 totalErrorCount=2281
Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

cpetterborg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try the following:

<yoursearch> | timechart span=5m last(totalOutAckCount) last(totalOutEnqCount) last(totalEnqueuedCount) last(totalErrorCount) last(totalErrorCount)

If your data is coming out with the key/value fields properly, this should work. If not, then a rex command will help, just reply about it here and we can come up with a rex that will work.

Be sure to look at the visualization tab for the actual graph.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

cpetterborg
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Try the following:

<yoursearch> | timechart span=5m last(totalOutAckCount) last(totalOutEnqCount) last(totalEnqueuedCount) last(totalErrorCount) last(totalErrorCount)

If your data is coming out with the key/value fields properly, this should work. If not, then a rex command will help, just reply about it here and we can come up with a rex that will work.

Be sure to look at the visualization tab for the actual graph.

0 Karma

schu777
Explorer

I tried that above, but didn't work. Here is lines that I have. NOTE that each is a total of a queue for the application. I'd like to get a graph of each total. I'll play around with it and hopefully I can get something. I know having a count of what was processed would make thing easier in Splunk, but this is the first cut of splunk logging for this application.