Dashboards & Visualizations

How to create a timechart that runs a search query every X minutes with a time range of Y?

GIS_M97
Explorer

Hello all, a Splunk newbie here.

For the company that I work for we want to monitor some licenses that are being used. The logs show the user the type of license that they have. The type can be for the most part IN (not using) or OUT (using the license) and sometimes DENIED but that is not of interest currently.

Because sometimes users forget to log off we want to take this into account by looking at the data over the past 2 weeks. I count the most recent type for each user and focus if the type is OUT. Because this means that the user is using a license. This gives a count of OUT over the past 2 weeks, which is pretty accurate with what the license manager shows.

This count of OUT over the past 2 weeks is needed to be shown every 5 minutes on a (time)chart. So, is it possible to have a (time)chart that runs a count over the past 2 weeks every 5 minutes?

For the query I have: base search | dedup 1 user sortby -_time | table user type _time | search type=out

This gives me only the users that have a type OUT, which means these are the ones that are using a license. Again, I would like to count the number of OUTS these past 2 weeks and have that number calculated every 5 minutes and shown on a (time)chart. I have tried loads of stuff (from other posts) but I did not manage to get it to work.

There already is a workaround where we use an ETL tool with the Splunk API as middleware, but I thought there should be a more efficient way to do it.

If any more info is needed I (hopefully) can provide that,

Thanks in advance,

M.

Labels (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

GIS_M97
Explorer