Dashboards & Visualizations

How can I get now() to be in UTC?

cwapshere
Explorer

Seems like such a trivial question but I can't find the answer.

I'm new to Splunk and troubleshooting a dashboard set up by someone else. He was using "now() - _time" to show "Data Freshness" - however _time is in UTC in the incoming data, so I just need now() to be in UTC as well. How do I do that in the search?

1 Solution

lguinn2
Legend

I think you have most of this from the other answers, but let me summarize:

When the data comes from a forwarder, the forwarder (version 6.x) supplies local time zone information that Splunk uses to calculate _time in UTC. So, the data is always stored in the index with _time in UTC. If the data does not have the proper time, it may be because the Splunk admin who set up the forwarding missed something. Perhaps the time zone information is not being picked up somewhere along the way, or props.conf needs to have a timezone setting on the indexer. You can find more info here: How timestamp assignment works

That said - when you sign onto Splunk, there is a time zone associated with your user account. So if you had your user timezone set to Pacific Time, then the Splunk UI will display all times (including _time and now()) in Pacific Time. So what you see may well be different from the value that is actually stored, but it will be consistent.

| eval freshness = now() - _time

Calculates "freshness" as the number of seconds between the event timestamp and the time that the search started.

Finally, you might also try the reltime command for what you want. (If I understand what you want.)

yoursearchhere
| head 1
| reltime 
| eval output="Last event was " . reltime
| table output

Creates a field named "output" which displays stuff like "Last event was 27 seconds ago." And you don't have to do the math yourself.

View solution in original post

lguinn2
Legend

I think you have most of this from the other answers, but let me summarize: