Dashboards & Visualizations

Bind Timechart Span to Timepicker Value

jmglynn
Engager

Hello, I'm a total Splunk novice, so sorry if this is a completely obvious solution.

I have a SingleValue visualization that I'd like to add a trend component to (so I'm switching from `stats count` to `timechart count`. The issue is that I want the discrete events to be aggregated into a single count based on a span consistent with the time picker. The default timechart behavior has all events being counted separately.

Example: Timepicker input is set to last 24 hours. I now want my timechart command to have a span of 24h. This should work dynamically with any timepicker value. 

From what I've researched so far, it looks as though I need to mess around with the source xml, and some tokens, but I'm not sure what exactly to do. I tried to simply set `span = $time_tok$`, but that was not successful. 

Thanks for the help in advance!

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

bowesmana
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

@jmglynn 

If you want a single value viz with trend, then you cannot have the timechart span=X the same as the time picker window, as you will only get 1 (or two depending on the snap to time picker setting) value.

In that case, you cannot get a trend as the trend works by looking at the data points in the timechart.

There are two aspects to showing trend in single value viz - the timechart span and the trend span, of which the trend span must be equal to or larger than the timechart span for it to have an effect.

So, if you have your time picker of 24 hours, what do you want the trend to show? If you want it to show an hourly trend, you cannot set your timechart span= interval to more than one hour.

The single value viz has a setting where you can set the trend range, but the data must exist for it to show it, e.g. in the XML you can see something like this, which in this case represents a custom trend interval.

<option name="trendInterval">-10m</option>