AppD Archive

Controller not connecting to agent for Jboss 6.1.0

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi Team,

I have downloaded the agent and added the the below to the standalone.sh file 

# Setup the JVM

if [ "x$JAVA" = "x" ]; then
if [ "x$JAVA_HOME" != "x" ]; then
JAVA="$JAVA_HOME/bin/java"
JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Djava.util.logging.manager=org.jboss.logmanager.LogManager -Xbootclasspath/p:/usr/share/jbossas/modules/system/layers/base/org/jboss/logmanager/main/jboss-logmanager-1.4.3.Final-redhat-1.jar:/usr/share/jbossas/modules/system/layers/base/org/jboss/log4j/logmanager/main/log4j-jboss-logmanager-1.0.2.Final-redhat-1.jar"JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -javaagent:/tmp/appServerAgent/javaagent.jar"
JAVA_OPTS="$JAVA_OPTS -Djboss.modules.system.pkgs=org.jboss.byteman,com.appdynamics,com.appdynamics.,com.singularity,com.singularity."
else
JAVA="java"
fi
fi
 
The server starts up properly without errors but I can't connect the agent and the controller. I also don't see logs inside /tmp/appServerAgent as mentioned in the readme.txt file. 
 
Can you please suggest me what's wrong?
 
Thanks
Indrojeet
0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

 I am now able to generate logs , the error messgae is attached. It's basically a connection refused . 

Please help.

0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Any help ??

0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

I have a trial software. which is gonna expire soon. 

0 Karma

Arun_Dasetty
Super Champion

Hi Indrojeet,

Apologize fot the delay in response, We understood that there is no firewall or proxy that blocks connectivity from agent instance to controller port and we assume controller is running fine and is accessible from agent machine at browser at http://10.99.11.23:80  

Can you send the output of the following telnet command:

1) Login agent instance 10.51.31.220
2) open shell and issue the following command:
shell> telnet 10.99.11.23 80

also we understand that controller is installed in multi tenat mode and the account name and access key listed below are valid and you see account/user/password fields when tried to login controller UI let us know if any disconnect:
[Thread-0] 29 Jul 2014 06:53:58,853 INFO XMLConfigManager - XML Agent Account Info Resolver using account name [NagarroInc]
[Thread-0] 29 Jul 2014 06:53:58,854 INFO XMLConfigManager - XML Agent Account Info Resolver using account access key [c2zi434xprav]

Regards.

Arun

0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi Arun,

Thanks for your reply. Please find my question and answers to your questions below : 

Question : 

[Arun] : We understood that there is no firewall or proxy that blocks connectivity from agent instance to controller port 

[Indrojeet] : Are you sure that's not the problem?

Question :

[Arun]: we assume controller is running fine and is accessible from agent machine at browser at http://10.99.11.23:80

[Indrojeet] : The controller is running fine on this URL : https://nagarroinc.saas.appdynamics.com/controller but not on http://10.99.11.23:80/controller . I tried accessing this link for 10.99.11.23 (Windows machine) itself. 

Question :

[Arun]:  telnet 10.99.11.23 80

[Indrojeet] : Well it says connection refused . Telnet is usually disabled by Default on Windows . Why are we doing a Telnet?

Question : Would you need any other  log?

Thanks

Indrojeet

0 Karma

Arun_Dasetty
Super Champion

Hi Indrojeet,

Please find the response to your queries inline:

>>>>  Are you sure that's not the problem?

Answer:  It depends if there is a proxy or firwal in between we need to add -Dappdynamics proxy properties or open firewal rule to allow connection from agent to controller on port 80, but you can ignore this for now as we controller ip details are mismatched here in your case

>>>>> regarding query on update on saas URL?

Answer: Can you please  update the  <controller-host>10.99.11.23</controller-host> xml value in controller-info.xml to  <controller-host>nagarroinc.saas.appdynamics.com</controller-host> and save the changes to xml file and see how it goes with jvm restart with agent configured.

>>>>>>>> Well it says connection refused . Telnet is usually disabled by Default on Windows . Why are we doing a Telnet?

Answer: you can ignore this for now, if issue persists please enable telnet and provide the output of telnet command pointing to saas host and port, refer forum link: http://www.wikihow.com/Activate-Telnet-in-Windows-7

>>>>> Would you need any other  log?

Answer: if issue persists please send latest agent logs and controller-info.xml fule

Let us know if that information helps.

Regards,

Arun

0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi Arun,

I updated the controller.xml and re-started the App server, the agent started fine and successfully started message is present in the agent logs. 

Now with saas URL i'm getting a "Connection Timeout error". Please find the agent logs and.xml file attached

0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Any help? 

0 Karma

Arun_Dasetty
Super Champion

Hi Indrojeet,

We see the following errors in agent logs as you stated:
=============================
[Thread-0] 31 Jul 2014 07:55:54,686 ERROR ConfigurationChannel - Exception: connect timed out
java.net.SocketTimeoutException: connect timed out
[AD Thread-Metric Reporter0] 31 Jul 2014 08:04:28,254 WARN MetricHandler - Metric Reporter Queue full. Dropping metrics.
===========================

And we could see from both agent logs and your saas controller ui that this agent failed to register due to connectivity issues itself.


Can you confirm whether there is any proxy installed/firewall rule exists that could block connection from 10.51.31.220 to saas host on https port 443, Please check whether the linux instance 10.51.31.220 is GUI enabled if so please check whether you can access saas URL from linux browser machine https://nagarroinc.saas.appdynamics.com/controller/ and if not since this is linux instance can you check output of the following command:

shell> telnet nagarroinc.saas.appdynamics.com 443 

telnet command confirms wherther controller is accessible from agent instance machine.

and check whether telnet command succeeds, if not get in touch with your network team to see if any firewall or proxy that blockes traffic on https port 443 

Regards,

Arun

0 Karma

CommunityUser
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi Arun,

I think I should leave the idea of connecting my agent to https://nagarroinc.saas.appdynamics.com/controller/ and should rather connect to my windows host which has IP - 10.99.11.23 (D-CZC0319TSF). 

Please let me know what/where the changes have to be made ? 

Also I ran the below commands on the RedHat machine to verify if the firewall was on 

service --status-all

auditd (pid 1302) is running...
automount (pid 1579) is running...
certmonger (pid 2613) is running...
Stopped
cgred is stopped
crond (pid 2517) is running...
goferd (2538) is running.
ip6tables: Firewall is not running.
iptables: Firewall is not running.
irqbalance (pid 1331) is running...
jbossas (pid 11952) is running
jbossas-domain is stopped
Current ktune sysctl settings:
kernel.sched_min_granularity_ns = 10000000
kernel.sched_wakeup_granularity_ns = 15000000
vm.swappiness = 30
vm.dirty_ratio = 40
net.core.wmem_max = 671088
net.core.rmem_max = 26214400

Current elevator settings:
/sys/block/dm-0/queue/scheduler: none
/sys/block/dm-1/queue/scheduler: none
/sys/block/dm-2/queue/scheduler: none
/sys/block/dm-3/queue/scheduler: none
/sys/block/dm-4/queue/scheduler: none
/sys/block/dm-5/queue/scheduler: none
/sys/block/sda/queue/scheduler: noop anticipatory [deadline] cfq
lvmetad is stopped
mcollectived (pid 1449) is running...
messagebus (pid 1435) is running...
netconsole module not loaded
Active NFS mountpoints:
/home/cydmodule.com/admharbed
Configured devices:
lo eth0
Currently active devices:
lo eth0
rpc.svcgssd is stopped
rpc.mountd is stopped
nfsd is stopped
rpc.statd (pid 1380) is running...
nrpe is up and running with pid: 2525
ntpd (pid 1802) is running...
oddjobd is stopped
master (pid 2496) is running...
goferd (2538) is running.
puppet is stopped
rdisc is stopped
restorecond is stopped
rhsmcertd (pid 2551) is running...
rpcbind (pid 1345) is running...
rpc.gssd is stopped
rpc.idmapd (pid 1415) is running...
rpc.svcgssd is stopped
rsyslogd (pid 1317) is running...
sandbox is stopped
saslauthd is stopped
snmpd (pid 1771) is running...
snmptrapd is stopped
openssh-daemon (pid 1783) is running...
sssd (pid 1357) is running...
tuned (pid 2509) is running..
-------------------------------------------
service iptables status
Table: filter
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
num target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
num target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
num target prot opt source destination

Please let me know how to proceed. 

Thanks

Indrojeet

0 Karma

Arun_Dasetty
Super Champion

Hi Indrojeet,

You need to update windows host (where onPremise controller) in <agent_dir>/conf/controller-info.xml file under <controller-host> xml element and update controller-port element with windows controller port and save the changes and retart the jvm with agent configued and make sure agent instance can telnet windows controller host on contrller port fine.

Regards,

Arun

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Splunk App Dev Community Updates – What’s New and What’s Next

Welcome to your go-to roundup of everything happening in the Splunk App Dev Community! Whether you're building ...

The Latest Cisco Integrations With Splunk Platform!

Join us for an exciting tech talk where we’ll explore the latest integrations in Cisco &#43; Splunk! We’ve ...

Enterprise Security Content Update (ESCU) | New Releases

In April, the Splunk Threat Research Team had 2 releases of new security content via the Enterprise Security ...