All Apps and Add-ons

what is the Index process ?

prasadjvv522
Explorer

Hi All,

I am new to splunk, in my organization having splunk.last one week onwards splunk having issues like

Daily indexing volume limit exceeded today.

License warning issued within past 24 hours (Mon Sep 22 00:00:00 2014 PDT). See License Manager for details.

Daily indexing volume limit exceeded. See License Manager for details.
I am searched some log files, in that volume exceeded.

My Question is

How the indexing is done, and which data should be indexing, where to find the indexed data and pocedure ?

Please help me.

Thanks,
Prasad

0 Karma
1 Solution

Ayn
Legend

Indexing is the process of storing all the data that goes into Splunk and make it searchable. This is the core of what Splunk does. I don't entirely understand the rest of your question - I guess you're not after getting detailed information on what Splunk DOES when it indexes data. Which data you should be indexing is entirely up to you.

View solution in original post

Ayn
Legend

Indexing is the process of storing all the data that goes into Splunk and make it searchable. This is the core of what Splunk does. I don't entirely understand the rest of your question - I guess you're not after getting detailed information on what Splunk DOES when it indexes data. Which data you should be indexing is entirely up to you.

prasadjvv522
Explorer

Any specific config file for index directories ?
i found only index files in "/opt/splunk/var/lib/splunk/defaultdb/db"
some files are having over indexing (more then 2GB )...
I need to find the which directories having over indexing ?

Thanks

0 Karma

Ayn
Legend