All Apps and Add-ons

Website Monitoring: Why am I getting "ERROR Unable to determine authentication type" after configuring an input?

kpavan
Path Finder

Hi All,

I was looking for website monitoring found this app https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/1493/ . After installation initial setup was done, since I didn't have any proxy, just saved as it is. After that I did configure an input for Website Monitoring, but started getting the error below. Not sure how to fix it since I am a newbie for this app. Please help me withthis issue.

2016-07-07 04:53:04,388 ERROR Unable to determine authentication type
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/data/splunk/etc/apps/website_monitoring/bin/web_ping.py", line 147, in determine_auth_type
    auth_header = http.headers['WWW-Authenticate']
  File "/data/splunk/etc/apps/website_monitoring/bin/website_monitoring_app/requests/structures.py", line 54, in __getitem__
    return self._store[key.lower()][1]
KeyError: 'www-authenticate'

Thanks!
Pavan

0 Karma

LukeMurphey
Champion

Its a bug. I opened a ticket and will fix this (see bug ticket 1391). I'm planning on fixing this in version 1.5.1 very soon.

Update:
I just released version 1.5.1 which includes a fix for this.

0 Karma

jafars

I get the same issue and I'm on 1.6.1.

2016-09-05 16:30:26,973 INFO Authentication type could not be automatically discovered; auth_type=basic
2016-09-05 16:30:26,973 ERROR Unable to determine authentication type (no www-authenticate header); will default to basic authentication
None

Any suggestions?

0 Karma

LukeMurphey
Champion

@jafars: the input tries to automatically discover what type of authentication the web-server requires (HTTP basic, HTTP digest, or NTLM). That message indicates that the web-server doesn't provide any clue as to what authentication type is supported. The input thus defaults to HTTP basic. That message can be safely ignored if authentication is working for you.

0 Karma

Spranta
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee