All Apps and Add-ons

Using splunk to create and view table metadata

sjanwity
Communicator

I am completely new to Splunk!

I have a database where updates are performed in a very ad-hoc way: I delete records and insert a new record with the new values. I hook this up to another 'logging' database which records each insert/delete operation and the details of the affected record (e.g. the timestamp of the operation, the ID of the record, etc.) . I'd like to use splunk to group these update operations and view them - what field was changed when - , bearing in mind that I also do normal inserts and deletes.

I am aware that you can input SQL and use splunk to present the data, but how do I go about almost creating a new field by itself?

For example:

Table Customers:

Customer ID | Customer Name | Customer Address |
001 | John F | 213 Privet Drive
002 | Kyle A | 16 Gammon Road

Table Customers-History:

TIMESTAMP         | OPERATION | Customer ID | Customer Name | Customer Address
1-Dec-2010 09:52:1232| INSERT | 002       | Kyle A          | 10 Gammon Road
2-Dec-2010 09:54:9500| DELETE| 002         | Kyle A         | 10 Gammon Road
2-Dec-2010 09:54:9500| INSERT | 002         | Kyle A        | 16 Gammon Road
2-Dec-2010 09:55:9921| DELETE | 003         | Josh C        | 21 Drury Lane

In the above example, the 2nd and 3rd logs of the Customers-History table show an edit operation. I want splunk to go through and record all the changes to the Customers table, automatically grouping up the edit operations as well. How should I do this?

1 Solution

aweitzman
Motivator

What you want to do is quite doable, but if you're completely new to Splunk, then you should start with the tutorial. Your first order of business will be getting your logs into Splunk and ensuring that the fields that you want to appear are being extracted properly. Then your question about a search that will group update operations will be easier to answer.

View solution in original post

aweitzman