All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk Machine Learning Toolkit(SMLT) - Different predictions algorithms based on same data

CarmineCalo
Path Finder

Splunkers!
I'm a newbie in the ML world, with some academic background, but very limited practice...

We're now working on a prediction model trying to forecast ICT Incidents based on some input variables, having very limited datapoints (basically a monthly value for the last 12 months)

We approached the problem in very "old fashion" way, trying to apply on "judgmental" basis, weights to each independent variable try to achieve a sounding forecast.
I'm now trying to back-test the model with Splunk ML (leveraging on the "Predict Numeric Field" option). I have a big question on how Splunk Machine Learning Toolkit works. Basically, leveraging on the same datasets and same prediction parameters ("Field to predict", "Predictors" and Training/ Test ratio), each time I run the "Fit Model" button I got a different outcome.

My initial understanding was that pushing "Fit Model", SML ran multiple iterations on the same dataset (with a different sample on the same dataset) to provide finally a sounding statistical result. But, in reality, it seems to me that SMLT just run a single iteration on a single sample extracted from the input dataset, just returning the result. Is my understanding correct?

Is there any chance to run multiple iterations on the same dataset (different samples) to get finally the best fit model?

Thanks for the support!

Carmine

0 Karma

aoliner_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hi Carmine,