All Apps and Add-ons

Splunk Add-on for CyberArk: I made changes in props.conf for proper multiline event breaking, but was there a better way? (thanks for this add-on!)

jonxilinx
Path Finder

Less of a question, but just wanted to say Many thanks for this, works like a treat.

I found I had to set UseLegacySyslogFormat=No in the dbparm.ini to send the priority of the SYSLOG to Splunk, and then add this in the props.conf for line breaking for multiline events that are sent from the vault.

[cyberark:epv:cef]
LINE_BREAKER = (<5>1 )

There may have been a better way (I'm a bit of Splunk newbie), but thanks for this TA which is most useful.

0 Karma

CHgeek

We are now in 2023 and we still hit the same issue as in 2016. Is there a new xsl file for this plugin?

0 Karma

nlembrechts
Explorer

In our situation we were using:
TCP protocol to send messages to the rsyslog on Ubuntu server which was writing messages to the separate file
Splunk Heavy Forwarder was reading and parsing that file and tranferring it to the Splunk indexer

The problem is if we are using TCP to establish connection, then rsyslog requires some delimiter to understand where message frame ends. Otherwise it will just buffer all messages until it fill buffer and then release part of the buffer to the log file, without really taking care about message start and end, etc...
That is why first thing we need to do is to put delimiter to the SplunkCIM.xsl file. Do this by inserting next line between line with </xsl:for-each> and line with </xsl:template> in my case it was between lines 129 and 130:
<xsl:text>&#xa;</xsl:text>

Where &#xa; - is a new line character in xml format it is the same as #015 in hex representation:
It is the same as: 0x0A (10 decimal) or &#10; - LF = Line Feed. Industry-strandard plain text tcp syslog uses the LF to delimit syslog frames.
From