All Apps and Add-ons

JMX Monitoring app issue with Operation with null parameter

ramanjain1983
Path Finder

Hi there,

I am trying to call an operation getActivities of Tibco BW which has a parameter name ProcessDefinition which is of string type. When I am executing this operation from Jconsole it is executing with default values which is actually blank or null. However when I have it defined in the config like this :

<operation name="GetActivities" outputname="GetActivities">
<parameter value="" type="string"/>
</operation>

then it is not able to collect anything. I am getting the below message in index=jmx:-

********* mbean_domain="com.tibco.bw",mbean_property_key="engine",mbean_property_name="SMEC_EAI_ISM_IM-SMEC_EAI_ISM_IM",GetActivities=""

Looks like for some reason the blank is not going into the parameter value. However when I tried similar kind of mbean where the parameter value was Active , it worked like a charm.

Is that expected behaviour or am I missing something.

Thanks.

0 Karma

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

Do either of these configs work :

Passing no parameter :

<operation name="GetActivities" outputname="GetActivities" />

Entering a single blank space as the parameter value :

<operation name="GetActivities" outputname="GetActivities">
  <parameter value=" " type="string"/>
</operation>
0 Karma

ramanjain1983
Path Finder

Thanks for answering.

I have tried this before with no luck.
If I try the first option which you said then I even do not get GetActivities field in the logs. Also it prints and error log with null.

ERROR ExecProcessor - message from "python /data/apps/splunk/etc/apps/SPLUNK4JMX/bin/jmx.py" Error executing JMX stanza jmx://helloworld : null

Second option, prints the same result as I mentioned in my original post. By the way this bean is TabularType and have Composite data in it.

0 Karma

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

Can you post a screendump from JConsole showing the MBean defintion tab for the Operation (so I can see what the method signature looks like).

Is it this from page 180 : https://docs.tibco.com/pub/activematrix_businessworks/5.9.3_march_2012/pdf/tib_bw_administration.pdf

0 Karma

ramanjain1983
Path Finder

yes that is correct. Though i am using 5.12 version which is quite same for that operation.

0 Karma

AzmathShaik
Path Finder

hello,

i'm also facing same issue. did this issue got resolved, if it is can you please share how did you make it work.

Thanks

0 Karma

ramanjain1983
Path Finder

alt text

0 Karma

Damien_Dallimor
Ultra Champion

So it has to take a single String argument.

Therefore you have to use the format :

<operation name="GetActivities" outputname="GetActivities">
<parameter value="something " type="string"/>
</operation>

Regarding what the "something" value can be , I don't know what the documented valid values are for this field , so you'll have to refer to the Tibco docs.

0 Karma

ramanjain1983
Path Finder

the problem is that while executing this operation from JConsole or any other client, I just need to leave it blank or null to retrieve everything. Hence this is weird but that something is either "" or "null" but none of them is working.

I will check with Tibco guys as well if this is expected behaviour or a bug in the Mbean operation. However I am assuming that your code is designed to pass the blank parameter value and not to ignore the parameter completely if the value is blank or null. Is that the case.

0 Karma

ramanjain1983
Path Finder

If visibility of this image is not that great, you can check at : http://i60.tinypic.com/2vt5xqu.png

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Get ready to show some Splunk Certification swagger at .conf24!

Dive into the deep end of data by earning a Splunk Certification at .conf24. We're enticing you again this ...

Built-in Service Level Objectives Management to Bridge the Gap Between Service & ...

Now On-Demand Join us to learn more about how you can leverage Service Level Objectives (SLOs) and the new ...

Database Performance Sidebar Panel Now on APM Database Query Performance & Service ...

We’ve streamlined the troubleshooting experience for database-related service issues by adding a database ...