All Apps and Add-ons

Cisco eStreamer eNcore delay in logs getting to Splunk

jonathanpeckham
Explorer

I'm running into an issue with the Cisco eStreamer eNcore app where IPS events are very delayed getting to Splunk.

I've setup a correlation rule on the FMC to email me when there is an IPS event. In Splunk I run a report every 30 minutes to search for IPS events past 4 hours from the estreamer host and email me the results. Based on the time I get the email from the FMC and when the events finally show up in the report it takes anywhere from 1.5 to 2 hours or more before triggered IPS events show up in Splunk.

I've been working with Cisco TAC on this for a couple months and am no closer to solving . I've uninstalled Splunk and the TA-eStreamer App at least twice with the similar results.

My version of Splunk, FMC, and eNcore app are as follows:
Splunk - 7.2.7 (tried it on 7.3.0 as well)
FMC - 6.4.0.4
Cisco eStreamer eNcore Add-on for Splunk - 3.6.8 (Same issue with older versions too)

Is anyone else having this issue with eNcore?

0 Karma

nyc_jason
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Hello Jonathan,

How many alerts are coming from the FMC when they do arrive? If its a very low number, you may need to check and reduce the batch size:

Here is a potential issue that sounds like yours:
https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/security/firepower/630/api/eStreamer_enCore/eStreamereNcoreSpl...

Batch Size
The eNcore for Splunk add-on also attempts to improve performance by batching received events and only writing them to output when the threshold for the batch has been reached. The default batch size is 100 events.