Alerting

Why my Splunk alert only include 1000 results in attached csv?

mekamundia
Explorer

Hi to all,
I am a real newbie in Splunk. Sorry for my simple question, but I really need help.
I have set an automated alert on Splunk that collects over 8000 results when triggered. I tried dispatch those results by email in a .csv document, but Splunk only attach first 1000 results to the file. Vice versa when I relaunched the search manually, it made easily a complete csv document.
How I can extend the number of results in mail attachment ?
I also read the topic Splunk Alert only includes first 1000 results of search. Why? but it seems to me does not gave a solution to this problem: (there seems to be some hard-coded voodoo going on behind the scenes. And for whatever reason, that voodoo wants to keep your from sending more than 1,000 events in your email)
thanks in advance for every tip

jaxjohnny2000
Builder

Using the Web GUI, modify just this one report you want to change. Try to go into Edit - Advanced Edit. The scroll down to action.email.maxresults . The default value is there for 10000. Add another zero (0) so it reads 100000.

alt text

yannK
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

the limits are in 2 places :

• in alert_actions maxresults=10000
  • in alert_actions in the command calling the email script.

you can redefine this in our local/alert_actions.conf

Here is a way to bump the limit to 50000 for the email alerts only. (on 6.2.0, please adapt the command to your version)

[email]
command     = $action.email.preprocess_results{default=""}$ | sendemail "results_link=$results.url$" "ssname=$name$" "graceful=$graceful{default=True}$" "trigger_time=$trigger_time$" maxinputs="$action.email.maxresults{default=50000}$" maxtime="$action.email.maxtime{default=5m}$" results_file="$results.file$"

maxresults=50000
0 Karma

MuS
Legend

Hi mekamundia,

you can apply some anti-voodoo globally in alert_actions.conf by setting

[default]
maxinputs = <YourNewMaxResultNumber>