Alerting

Trigger Alert based on Unique Values and Throttle so unique value doesn't get sent again

Kohtea16
Explorer

Hello,

Background:

I am generating alerts around our Office 365 Environment using the Content Pack for Microsoft 365. I have limited search query experience but willing to put in the time to learn more as I go.

About the Content Pack for Microsoft 365 - Splunk Documentation

Trying to accomplish:

Runs every 10 minutes > Trigger single alert if "id"/"Ticket" is unique for every result > Throttle for 24 hours

This is just an example of my search query:

(index=Office365) sourcetype="o365:service:healthIssue" service="Exchange Online" classification=incident OR advisory status=serviceDegradation OR investigating
| eventstats max(_time) as maxtime, by id
| where _time = maxtime
| mvexpand posts{}.description.content
| mvexpand posts{}.createdDateTime
| rename posts{}.description.content AS content posts{}.createdDateTime AS postUpdateTime
| stats latest(content) AS Content latest(status) AS Status earliest(_time) AS _time latest(postUpdateTime) AS postUpdateTime by service, classification id isResolved
| fields _time service  classification id  Content postUpdateTime Status isResolved
| sort + isResolved -postUpdateTime
| rename isResolved AS Resolved? service AS Workload id AS Ticket classification AS Classification postUpdateTime AS "Last Update"

would I need a custom trigger? and what result would be required for suppressing?would I need a custom trigger? and what result would be required for suppressing?

What Is happening:

There could be technically be 3 events based on the search query but the alert will only send 1 email to me (with only 1 event) instead of 3 individual alert emails, with 3 separate events.