Alerting

Triger Alert For High Number of Failed Login Within 5 minutes

mathiasy123
Path Finder

I'm new to Splunk Enterprise, I want to trigger a real-time alert if failed attempt login is more than 3 times every or within 5 minutes, for example, 01:00 PM until 01:05 PM there is a failed login attempt more than 3 times, so alert will show.

this is my question:

A. What is the best type of alert for this case? Real-time rolling window ? or Real-time per result?

B. What is the best practice to specify the trigger condition for this case (according to question A)? Is it in search command? Or in alert form custom trigger condition?

Labels (5)
0 Karma
1 Solution

mathiasy123
Path Finder

Okay, so what I understand is scheduled alert doesn't have time to start the alert, right?

The search I fixed:

mathiasy123_0-1593693492353.png

The cron schedule I fixed:

mathiasy123_2-1593693565114.png

Is it good to go already?

View solution in original post

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @mathiasy123 ,

I don't hint to use a real time alert because it uses many resources and it's usually non mandatory to have a real time alert when the following intervene is human!

If you want to monitor a Windows system, you can check the EventCode=4625 and define the threeshold you want for the monitoring period, e.g. something like this:

index=wineventlog EventCode=4625 earliest=3m latest=now
| stats count BY host Account_name
| where count>3

in this way you have a search that has results when you have more than 3 logfail in the last 3 minutes.

You can schedule it using this cron (every three minutes):

*/3 * * * *

Answering to your questions:

A) don't use a real time search!

B) you have to create the above search and save it as an alert, specifying the other informations (frequency, actions, etc...).

Ciao.

Giuseppe

0 Karma

mathiasy123
Path Finder

@gcusello @renjith_nair