Alerting

Audit changes/modifications to Alerts/Reports using REST API also showing user who did the action

stillfree
Explorer

HI there,

I am relatively new to Splunk but was given a task that I found very difficult.

One of our customers is expecting an audit and has a variety of Reports and Alerts in one of their app. They would like to pop up an alert every time a someone modify any of the reports/alerts and the alert should give them what action has been done (e.g. modify, delete, add, remove) who done it, when and what has been changed (for instance if query's search is tampered with).

I've tried everything that has been posted here and it's always close but no cigar. It seems that the internal logs of _audit and _internal indexes do not log these changes.
In the end I came up to REST API. What I did is as follows:

1)  I typed the search below to get the alerts/reports

rest splunk_server=local /servicesNS/-/{app_name}/saved/searches 
| fields title search eai:acl:owner eai:acl:app alert_type updated cron_schedule auto_summarize.suspend_period dispatch.earliest_time dispatch.latest_time id

2) I exported the results as a csv file and renamed the search column to oldSearch

3) I imported back the csv (compareSearches) as lookup and used the following query

| rest splunk_server=local /servicesNS/-/{app_name}/saved/searches 
| fields title search eai:acl:owner eai:acl:app alert_type updated cron_schedule auto_summarize.suspend_period dispatch.earliest_time dispatch.latest_time id
| join  [| inputlookup compareSearches.csv | table title oldSearch]
| where search!=oldSearch

4) That almost gave me what I wanted but not exactly.  This search only catches changes in the reports/alerts queries. But if report/alert gets deleted or the schedule time is changed.

5) The below line would create an additional fields with info regarding what type of change occured.

| eval changeType = if(search!=oldSearch, "Query changed", "Other change occured")