Splunk Search

find all events of type X that do not have an event of type Y within 1 minute on either side

noah10
Explorer

I'm new to Splunk and trying to figure out how to find all events of type X that do NOT have an event of type Y within 1 minute (before or after) of them. I found http://answers.splunk.com/answers/137069/find-all-events-not-having-a-corresponding-event-matched-by... , but in my case the events have nothing to correlate them except for time, and I haven't been able to adapt the answer for that question to my case. Any suggestions about the best way to accomplish such a search?

Tags (2)
1 Solution

woodcock
Esteemed Legend

OK, I realized that I forgot to discriminate one more time once I find values in the map. This will work for sure:

eventtype=type_y
| streamstats current=f window=1 max(_time) as prevTime
| eval myTime=_time
| eval delta=myTime-prevTime
| where delta>120
| map maxsearches=10000 search="search eventtype=type_x earliest=$prevTime$ latest=$myTime$
| eval lowDelta=_time-$prevTime$
| eval highDelta=$mYtime$-_time
| where lowDelta>60 highDelta>60"

View solution in original post

vganjare
Builder

HI,

How about finding the different time ranges for every occurance of X and then use this to find all the events which do not have the occurance of Y within specified time range (i.e. 1 min in your case). Following query can give you some idea:

index=_internal  [ search index=_internal   log_level="ERROR"  | eval latestTime = (strptime(strftime(_time,"%m/%d/%Y:%H:%M:%S"),"%m/%d/%Y:%H:%M:%S") + (1* 60) ) | eval earliestTime = (latestTime-(1 * 60)) | table latestTime earliestTime | eval QueryToken = "(earliest=".earliestTime." latest=".latestTime.") OR" | stats values(QueryToken) as QueryValues | makemv delim="||" QueryValues | eval QueryFilter = substr(QueryValues , 1, len(QueryValues)-3)  | return $QueryFilter] log_level!="WARNING" |chart count over _time by log_level usenull=f

Following is the logic: