Splunk Search

What are my searches finding?

Freddler
Explorer

Hi! This is my first post here so I apologise if the format is flawed. I am a Splunk novice and have been tinkering with different searches to try and achieve my goal. I have two searches which both yield something. The results are similar but not identical and I'd like to understand what the difference is.

I'll begin describing the logfiles:

Among loads of other data, there is information about different systems and different programs being run. It is structured somthing like this:

Lorem ipsum ..
System: ABC (occurs only once)
Lorem ipsum ..
Starting program: Name (can occur multiple times)
Lorem ipsum ..

The objective is to find and count all programs that have been run in the same session as a certain system is present. For example, if the system can be either ABC, DEF or GHI, I want all the program names from the logs where the system was GHI but NOT if it was DEF or ABC. There are field extractions for both the system name and the program name.

My searches:

sourcetype=Log "Starting program:" OR "System:"
| stats values(Program) as Program values(System) as System by source
| where System="GHI"
| mvexpand Program
| stats count by Program
| sort count by Program desc
| head 50
sourcetype=Log "Starting program" OR "System:"
| transaction source startswith="System: GHI" endswith="Starting program:"
| mvexpand Program
| stats count by Program
| head 50

As I've stated, these searches seem to yield same-ish results. What is actually happening under the hood here? Also, the number of occurrences of "Starting program" is vastly superior to the "System", so I imagine that the speed could be increased by first finding the logs where the system is "GHI" and then only in those logs perform the program search. Would that be possible?

Thanks in advance!

Labels (2)
1 Solution

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

You have to remember what the pipe "|" is doing. In the case of

| where System="GHI"