Splunk Search

Search with limited time clause

Bastiaan
Engager

Hello all,

I'm quite new to the wonderful world of Splunk, but not new to monitoring or IT in general. We are optimizing our operations processes and I'd like to get a state of the last 24h of our environment, specifically our Firewall status. It sends all it's logging to Splunk and I've created the following filter to find all the errors, but it's not working:

host="hostname" AND ( CASE(CONFIG) CASE(commit*) NOT Succeeded ) OR "snmpd.log due to log overflow" OR ( ("TS-Agent" AND "connect-agent-failure") | where NOT (date_hour >= 1 AND date_hour < 5) )

It gives me back: "Error in 'search' command: Unable to parse the search: unbalanced parentheses."

The last part of the filer (TS-Agent and so on) has to be filtered because I wish to exclude a timeframe from the results (reboot schedule of said servers), however, the other searches need to be from all the time (e.g. the last 24h or whatever  I set).

I think I'm doing something wrong or things just don't work like I expect. I hope you folks can help me out or point me in the right direction. I'd like to get all the errors on one tile so I can see if I can get my coffee in the morning slowly or fast 😉 Many thanks in advance!

Labels (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @Bastiaan,

as I said, follow the Splunk Search Tutorial and you'll quickly learn how to search on Splunk.

Anyway, if you have only to search some strings, you can put them in the main search using the boolean operator to correlate them, remembering that the AND operator is by default.

So if you want to find all events containing the strings you define, you could try to run:

index=your_index  host=your_host ("CONFIG, commit* but not Succeeded" OR "snmpd.log")
| table _time host TS_Agent

Then you can add the time conditions, but, as I said, follow the Search Tutotial.