Splunk Search

REX: how to search in the opposite direction

LHumberto
Explorer

I'm new to REX and trying to extract strings from _raw (which is actually a malformed JSON, so SPATH is not a good option either).

I was able to create a REX to identify the pattern that I want (or kind of). However, I'm having trouble establishing the correct boundaries. There is where my lack of experience with REX is showing. I cannot establish the end of my pattern correctly. I have pasted the expression that I'm using and a cleaned-up sample of the text I'm dealing with.

| rex field=_raw "next\_best\_thing.+description(?<NBT>.+)topic"

I thought this would identify the beginning of my pattern as next_best_thing (as it does) and the end after the first description and capture the Group (NBT) as \\\":\\\"Another quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.\\\"},{\\\" (just before the first topic). Naturally, a lot of clean-up would still be necessary but I would have something to work with.

However, it seems that the search starts from the end of the _raw string, so the description that is being captured is in a different part and the Group becomes something completely different from what I intended to (\\\":\\\"A third quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog\xAE Bla Bla BlaBla?\xA0 And a forth The quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog.\\\"},{\\\").

Also, if the expression is just | rex field=_raw "next\_best\_thing.+description(?<NBT>.+)", omitting the end boundary (TOPIC), the whole pattern changes, with completely different description being used as the end boundary. And naturally the Group changes completely.

The latter reinforces the impressions that the searches are being performed from the end of _raw.

Is there a way to change the search direction? Or am I even more wrong / lost than I think on how to establish the boundaries for pattern and group?