Splunk Search

Question for extracting a string out of longer string

strehb18
Path Finder

Hello, I am looking to create a new field based on a section from a longer string/web address. I didn't see what i was looking in a search on this site. I assume its possible with a regex but I am not good at those. 

Here are examples of fields I currently have... I am looking to extract the Location part of the string. The Company\Segment\Name does not change before Location. Location will change and is what I need. 

\Company\Segment\Name\Location\Area

\Company\Segment\Name\Location\Area

I do not need the Area. 

Thanks,

Labels (3)
Tags (3)
1 Solution

chaday00
Path Finder

I'm not complete sure how your location is configured so I made some assumptions.

First I created a CSV file to test with and then created a lookup table:

location_number, location_path
1,"\Oshkosh Corporation\Defense\Oshkosh Defense\New York, NY\Staten Island"
2,"\Oshkosh Corporation\Defense\Oshkosh Defense\Atlanta, GA\Bankhead"
3,"\Oshkosh Corporation\Defense\Oshkosh Defense\Atlanta, GA\Peachtree Center"
4,"\Oshkosh Corporation\Defense\Oshkosh Defense\Seattle, WA\Pier"

Then using the query below I was able to get the rex working--turns out I needed 3 backslashes:

| inputlookup test_urls.csv | rex field=location_path "\\\Oshkosh Corporation\\\Defense\\\Oshkosh Defense\\\(?<location>\w+.*\,[\sA-Z]{3})" | table location

Output: 

Atlanta, GA
Atlanta, GA
Seattle, WA

View solution in original post

chaday00
Path Finder

Might need a little more information than you provided, but the below may work:

| rex field=url \\Company\\Segment\\Name\\(?<location>\w+)\\Area

This assumes the following are static: Company, Segment, Name, Area and creates a new field called 'location'

\w+ means match any word character (i.e., Matches any letter, digit or underscore. Equivalent to [a-zA-Z0-9_]), one or more times