Splunk Search

Parsing at search time variable white spaces

FrancoiseMathy

Hello,

I am new in Splunk parsing and I am facing some problems with this.
I am trying to parse, at Search Time, a source of logs (containing two sourcetypes, AIX and Linux). In the AIX sourcetype, I have three different type of events (one for "PROC_Execute", another for "CRON" and the last one for "S_PASSWD_READ". The beginning of the event is the same for the three types.

I have a UF -> IDX environment -> SH.

I have tried many many things with transforms.conf and/or props.conf without any success. Everytime I search for the sourcetype events, nothing is parsed in SH Gui.

My logs look like this, for AIX (sourcetype=aix) (I will do linux afterwards.)

PROC_Execute root OK Mon Jul 25 10:53:26 2016 uncompress 14614680 21364880 root

euid: 0 egid: 0 epriv: ffffffff:ffffffff name /usr/bin/uncompress -f /audit/tempfile.21364880
PROC_Execute i51534a OK Mon Jul 25 10:53:26 2016 sh 15335586 7798934 root

euid: 0 egid: 0 epriv: ffffffff:ffffffff name sh -c LANG=C /usr/bin/vmstat
S_PASSWD_READ root OK Mon Jul 25 10:54:00 2016 cron 21233890 6684896 root

audit object read event detected /etc/security/passwd
S_PASSWD_READ root OK Mon Jul 25 10:54:00 2016 cron 21233890 6684896 root

audit object read event detected /etc/security/passwd
CRON_Start root OK Mon Jul 25 10:54:00 2016 cron 21233890 6684896 root

event = start cron job cmd = > /lpar2rrd/product/logs/error.log time = Mon Jul 25 10:54:00 2016

As you can see, multiple white spaces is used as delimiter and more than that, the amount of white spaces between the "sh"/"uncompress" and the "process_number" can vary.

I tried the following in the SH gui and it works fine. The events are parsed with correct values :
"index= host= | rex field=_raw "^(?P\w+)\s+(?P\w+)\s+(?P\w+)\s+(?P\w+\s+\w+\s+\d+\s+\d+:\d+:\d+\s+\d+)\s+(?P[^ ]+)\s+(?P\d+)\s+(?P\d+)\s+(?P\w+)\s+(?P.*)$""