Splunk Search

Noob Question - Parsing JSON

ikoth
Explorer

Hi,

complete Splunk beginner here, so sorry it this is a stupid question.

I'm trying to chart some data that I'm pulling from an MQTT broker. The Splunk  MQTT Modular Input app is doing its thing and data is arriving every 5 minutes.

Using the most basic query  (  source="mqtt://MeteoMQTT"  ) gives these results:

Fri Jul 26 15:24:46 BST 2024 name=mqtt_msg_received event_id= topic=meteobridge msg={"meteoTemp":17.9,"meteoHumidity":64,"meteoRainlasthour":0,"meteoWindSpeed":6.04,"meteoWindDirection":"SW","meteolunarPercent":67.3}

What I really want to do though is to break out the values from the most recent data poll into separate "elements" that can then be added to a dashboard.

I tried using the spath command:

source="mqtt://MeteoMQTT" | spath output=meteoTemp path=meteoTemp

But that just returned the whole object again.

So, how can i parse out the different values (meteoTemp, meteoHumidity, meteoRainlasthour, etc), so that i can add their most recent values as individual dashboard elements please?

TIA.

Labels (1)
Tags (3)
0 Karma
1 Solution

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

headers, but I'm still unsure of how to parse each individual value ("meteoTemp", or "meteolunarPercent" for example) into separate objects so they can represented by separate and

I am confused.  Have you viewed my sample output?  meteoTemp and meteolunarPercent are extracted by spath, and tabulated in my example.  You can plot them however you want.  For example,

source="mqtt://MeteoMQTT"
| rex "msg=(?<msg>.+)"
| spath input=msg
| timechart avg(meteoTemp) as avgMeteoTemp max(meteolunaPercent) as maxMeteolunaPercent

If you do not get those fields, you need to play with my emulation and carefully compare with your raw data and post data that is representative of the actual data structure.

View solution in original post

ikoth
Explorer