Splunk Search

How to use INPUTLOOKUP command in splunk

abhayneilam
Contributor

Hi ,

I am new to splunk, I want to seach multiple keywords from a list ( .txt ) , I would like to know how it could be done using "inputlookup" command ..

Please help !!

Thanks
Abhay

Tags (2)
0 Karma
1 Solution

_d_
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Assume you define a lookup table as described here: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/5.0/Knowledge/Addfieldsfromexternaldatasources

Further, assume that the lookup is called foo and its associated file looks as such:

status, category
200, good
400, bad
500, worse

1.You can use the following search that utilizes the inputlookup command to search on status=values:

"index=my_index [| inputlookup foo | return 10 status]"

which translates to :

"index=my_index (status="200") OR (status="400") OR (status="500")"

2.To search ONLY on status values:

index=my_index [| inputlookup foo | return 10 $status]

which translates to:

index=my_index (200) OR (400) OR (500)

Hope this helps,

d.

View solution in original post

_d_
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Assume you define a lookup table as described here: http://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/5.0/Knowledge/Addfieldsfromexternaldatasources

Further, assume that the lookup is called foo and its associated file looks as such:

status, category
200, good
400, bad
500, worse

1.You can use the following search that utilizes the inputlookup command to search on status=values:

"index=my_index [| inputlookup foo | return 10 status]"

which translates to :

"index=my_index (status="200") OR (status="400") OR (status="500")"

2.To search ONLY on status values:

index=my_index [| inputlookup foo | return 10 $status]

which translates to:

index=my_index (200) OR (400) OR (500)

Hope this helps,

d.

SubtotalAMG
Loves-to-Learn Lots
  • Hi, I still don't understand the difference between $<field> and <fields>. Can you ELI5?
0 Karma

vijaysubramania
Path Finder