Splunk Search

How to monitor 365 Mailbox permissions?

Niro
Explorer

We're trying to set up some searches/alerts when someone makes a change to mailboxes on Exchange Online. I'm still learning SPL, but I'm having some issues with this particular one.

Splunk gets the log data from 365 correctly, but it returns a list of 4 dictionaries  to identify the changes me

"Parameters": [{"Name": "Identity", "Value": "valuea"}, {"Name": "User", "Value": "valueb"}, {"Name": "AccessRights", "Value": "valuec"}, {"Name": "InheritanceType", "Value": "valued"}]

The search from the app is below, and it just spits out all 4 names/values - but how would I reference them individually? Mainly I just want to do that so I can make nicer looking alerts and dashboards with that data.

`m365_default_index` sourcetype="o365:management:activity" Workload=Exchange Operation=*permission* NOT UserId = "*Microsoft.Exchange.ServiceHost*" | table CreationTime Operation ObjectId Parameters{}.Name Parameters{}.Value UserId | rename ObjectId AS Object Parameters{}.Name AS Parameter Parameters{}.Value AS "Value" UserId AS "Modified By"

Labels (4)
Tags (2)
0 Karma

ITWhisperer
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust
| foreach Identity User AccessRights InheritanceType
    [| eval <<FIELD>>=mvindex('Parameters{}.Value',mvfind('Parameters{}.Name',"<<FIELD>>"))]
0 Karma

yuanliu
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

If the cited search is from a prepackaged app, it is not very useful for you.  Do this instead

`m365_default_index` sourcetype="o365:management:activity" Workload=Exchange Operation=*permission* NOT UserId = "*Microsoft.Exchange.ServiceHost*"
| spath path=Parameters{}
| mvexpand Parameters{} ``` handle each array element separately ```
| spath input=Parameters{}
| table CreationTime Operation ObjectId Name Value UserId | rename ObjectId AS Object Name AS Parameter UserId AS "Modified By"
Tags (2)
0 Karma

Niro
Explorer

Thanks!