Splunk Search

How to merge several fields from a log to one field?

ljxdennis

Hi guys,

i am pretty new to Splunk and i have the following Task.
I have four Systems with logs. I want to merge several fields from a log from one system to one field to generate a X-Trace-ID. I Need this X-Trace-ID to track the Transaction over the four Systems away.
Actually i could use the method of expanding the database of each Systems concerning one column and add an X-Trace-ID but we can't do that because of cost Problems.
Could you help me how can i generate in an alternative way a X-Trace-ID accross System boundaries?

Thank you very much and i am looking Forward for some answers.

Greetings

Dennis

Tags (1)
0 Karma
1 Solution

kmorris_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Assuming I am understanding your request correctly, it sounds like you want to create a new field made up of a concatenation of other fields in the same event. If this is correct, try something like this:

<YOUR BASE SEARCH>
| eval X-Trace-ID=field1 . "-" . field2 . "-" field3 . "-" . field4

Not sure if you wanted the values separated or not, so I added the "-" between fields.

View solution in original post

0 Karma

kmorris_splunk
Splunk Employee
Splunk Employee

Assuming I am understanding your request correctly, it sounds like you want to create a new field made up of a concatenation of other fields in the same event. If this is correct, try something like this:

<YOUR BASE SEARCH>
| eval X-Trace-ID=field1 . "-" . field2 . "-" field3 . "-" . field4

Not sure if you wanted the values separated or not, so I added the "-" between fields.

0 Karma

ljxdennis

Thank you much! 🙂

0 Karma
Get Updates on the Splunk Community!

Index This | I am a number, but when you add ‘G’ to me, I go away. What number am I?

March 2024 Edition Hayyy Splunk Education Enthusiasts and the Eternally Curious!  We’re back with another ...

What’s New in Splunk App for PCI Compliance 5.3.1?