Splunk Search

How to import event logs from another system to scan on my local instance of Splunk?

BabySplunk
Explorer

Hello all! I am brand new to Splunk and have learned quite a bit so far from this forum, so thank you! With that being said, I am currently trying to import event logs from another system to scan on my local instance of Splunk. I've tried moving the EVTX files into my winevt directory, but that didn't work. I'm getting very frustrated and any help would be appreciated.

-BabySplunk

Labels (1)
0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @BabySplunk,

EVTX are encrypted, you need to use the connector that Splunk developed and it's in the Splunk_TA_Windows (https://splunkbase.splunk.com/app/742).

For more infos you can see at https://docs.splunk.com/Documentation/Splunk/9.0.2/Data/Usingforwardingagents and https://www.splunk.com/en_us/resources/videos/getting-data-into-windows.html

You can also find many interesting videos in the Splunk YouTube Channel.

Ciao.

Giuseppe

BabySplunk
Explorer

I decided to convert them to CSV to make it a bit easier. I followed the video you linked, but now I'm getting no results returned via search.

Here's my search string:

source="filename.csv" sourcetype="csv" | search EventCode=4624 | table _time, Account_Name, Message

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @BabySplunk,

at first use always the index value in searches because you index could not be in the default path and probably this is your issue.

then check the EventCode field: field names in Splunk are Case sensitive.

Then you don't need to use the search command, put the search conditons as left as possible:

index=your_index source="filename.csv" sourcetype="csv" EventCode=4624 
| table _time Account_Name Message

Ciao.

Giuseppe

BabySplunk
Explorer

Thanks for your help, but I'm still returning no results.

0 Karma

gcusello
SplunkTrust
SplunkTrust

Hi @BabySplunk,

how do you indexed these csv files?

in which index did you stored them?