Splunk Search

How to generate dynamic columns in a table that display the difference in data based on date?

fnazar

Hi,

I am new to splunk so bear with me please.

I am trying to display data by each day in a chart and then right at the end, display the difference of last 2 days in one column and then display difference from last Week,

My query currently looks like this

index=x1 sourcetype=x2 | eval minutes=seconds/60 | chart sum(minutes) over customer by date_mday useother=f limit=50 | table customer 16 17 | rename 16 as day16 | rename 17 as day17 | eval diff=day17-day16

This gives me Yesterday and day before, which is perfectly fine.

However, I would like to do all this dynamically. So if the query ran on the 20th, it would show the day for 18th and 19th. I cannot hard code every single day of the month.

The final bit is to show all previous days as well as showing the difference weekly.

Cheers

Tags (4)
0 Karma

vganjare
Builder

Hi,

Following query should help you.

index=x1 sourcetype=x2 | eval currentTime = now() | eval custom_date_mday=if(_time > (currentTime-86400), "Today", if(_time > (currentTime - 2*86400), "Yesterday",  if(_time > (currentTime - 3*86400), "DayBeforeYesterday", "OLDER"))) | eval minutes=seconds/60 | chart sum(minutes) over customer by custom_date_mday useother=f limit=50 | eval diff = Today-Yesterday

Basically, classify your events into Today, Yesterday, DayBeforeYesterday and Older. 86400 is the number of sec in 24 hrs. You can change the logic for getting the Today, Yesterday values. Once you have the expected range of values, you can use those in the difference calculation.

Thanks !!

vganjare
Builder

Hi,

Is this working for you?

Thanks!!

0 Karma

fnazar

Is there any way to achieve this?

0 Karma

somesoni2
Revered Legend

Try this runanywhere sample search to get the dynamic diff between last two days.