Splunk Search

How to display fields from two queries only if timestamps match?

klay824
Explorer

Hi,

I have a query that is making two different searches and displaying the stats of each. Example:

index="example" TERM(STOP)

| rename message.payload as message1
    | stats count by message1

| appendcols [search index="example2"
        | rename message.payload as message2

| stats count by message2]

I want the results of message1 and message2 whose event timestamps are identical to be displayed next to each other in statistics tab. I would like to have the stats displayed as such:

Message1         Message2        Count

<data>                 <data>               23

<data>                 <data>               17

Is this possible?  I hope this makes sense, I am still somewhat new to writing Splunk queries and this is so far the most complex one I have needed to write.

Labels (3)
0 Karma

Tom_Lundie
Contributor

Does this do what you need it to?

(index="example" TERM(STOP)) OR index="example2"
| eval message1=if(index=example, message.payload, null())
| eval message2=if(index=example2, message.payload, null())
| stats values(message1) as message1, values(message2) as message2, count by _time

0 Karma

klay824
Explorer

Thanks for your reply! I think I may have written my example queries poorly.  The indexes are the same, but each have additional parameters.

First is:

Second is:

index="example" TERM(index)

If my indexes have the same name, how can I modify your example?

0 Karma

Tom_Lundie
Contributor

Ah-ha, I understand.

Depending on exactly what you're trying to acheive.

If you truly are looking to use TERM in the conventional sense to group the message.payload properties, then you can let Splunk natively take care of the different TERMs via a subsearch:

| eval message1 = src_ip
| table _time, message1 
| append 
    [| search index="example" TERM(index) 
    | eval message2 = src_ip 
    | table _time, message2
        ]